A Presentation of the Austrian Mathematical Society

Barbara Kaltenbacher (Alpen-Adria-Universität Klagenfurt, Austria)

The Austrian Mathematical Society ÖMG was founded in 1903 by the university professors Ludwig Boltzmann, Gustav von Escherich and Emil Müller under the name *Mathematische Gesellschaft in Wien* (Mathematical Society in Vienna). The role of Boltzmann is historically not completely clear; at the first meeting on 14 January 1904, von Escherich, Müller and Wirtinger were elected as the managing committee of the Society, as reported in the annual reports of the German Mathematical Society DMV. More details about these early years can be found in the article *Vor 100 Jahren: Mathematik in Wien* (Hundred years ago: Mathematics in Vienna) by Christa Binder in the *Internationale Mathematische Nachrichten* (International Mathematical News) IMN 193 (2003), pp.1–20, http://www.oemg.ac.at/IMN/imn193.pdf.

After the Second World War, the Society reassumed its activity in May 1946. On 10 August 1946 it was formally reestablished by Rudolf Inzinger. An account of this can be found in the very first issue of the *Internationale Mathematische Nachrichten* IMN 1 (1947), http:// www.oemg.ac.at/IMN/imn001.pdf.

The first president of this Society was Prof. Dr Rudolf Inzinger (TU Vienna, at that time Technische Hochschule Wien), the first and second deputy presidents were Prof. Dr. Johann Radon (University of Vienna) and Franz Prowaznik (State Superintendent of Schools in Vienna), respectively. Also Doz. Dr. Ludwig Hofmann (TU Vienna) and Doz. Dr. Edmund Hlawka (University of Vienna) were members of the board at that time.

From 19 to 22 May 1948, the first mathematical congress took place in Vienna; a detailed report can be found in the Internationale Mathematische Nachrichten IMN 4 (1948), http://www.oemg.ac.at/IMN/imn004.pdf. In order to emphasise its role as a national representative of mathematicians, the board decided to change the name to Österreichische Mathematische Gesellschaft (Austrian Mathematical Society) on 23 April 1948. This change was confirmed in the general assembly on 29 October 1948 and Rudolf Inzinger passed the presidency on to Johann Radon - well known for, e.g., the Radon-Nikodym Theorem or the Radon Transform. Today, an Institute of the Austrian Academy of Sciences is named after him, the Johann Radon Institute for Computational and Applied Mathematics https://www. ricam.oeaw.ac.at/

The journal Internationale Mathematische Nachrichten of the Austrian Mathematical Society was founded in 1947 by Rudolf Inzinger as Nachrichten der Mathematischen Gesellschaft in Wien (News of the Mathematical Society in Vienna) and edited for the first time in June 1947. In 1952 it was renamed Internationale Mathema*tische Nachrichten* and served until 1971 as the official gazette of the International Mathematical Union. From 1953 to 1977 the IMN continued to be edited by Walter Wunderlich, who had been on board as editor of the Nachrichten since the journal was founded.

Since the reestablishment of the *Monatshefte für Mathematik* (Mathematical Monthly) by Johann Radon in 1947, the ÖMG has also contributed to its redactions; first of all up until 1955 and currently again since 2010.

As specified in its bylaws, the ÖMG makes an important contribution to the "promotion of mathematical sciences and support for mathematicians" through its conferences and awards.

Besides participation in the organisation of bi- and multilateral conferences such as the CSASC (Joint Meeting of the Czech, Slovenian, Austrian, Slovak and Catalan Mathematical Societies) and other joint conferences with neighbouring mathematical societies of similar size, the ÖMG also runs a biennial series of conferences, conferences (the most recent one in September 2019 in Dornbirn), where every second one is held jointly with the German Mathematical Society DMV as a large Mathematics Congress every four years. The last one took place in Salzburg in September 2017, the next one will be held in Passau in September 2021.

Awards are an important means of supporting young mathematicians in their careers and increasing the visibility of mathematics and mathematicians. The ÖMG provides yearly awards at several different career levels. The introductory one is a prize for high school pupils in their final year and the highest one is the research promotion award of the Austrian Mathematical Society. The latter is awarded along with the Inzinger Medal (see Figure) to excellent young mathematicians, who are usually at the stage of post docs, senior scientists or assistant/ associated professors within two to ten years after their PhD, for their outstanding mathematical research work, the majority of which should have been carried out in Austria. A list of awardees of the Inzinger Medal can be found at http://www.oemg.ac.at/Preise.html#fp and contains a considerable number of distinguished colleagues working in academia within or outside of Austria.

BITTMANN 1903 BI

The Inzinger Medal.



Group photo at the first Early Student Award meeting in Strobl, September 2018. (Photo by Wolfgang Wöss, TU Graz, Austria)

For the stages in between there are two further prizes: the Studies Prize for Master or PhD theses and the newly established Early Student Award, which also includes a meeting of some of the most talented first- and second-year mathematics students from all over Austria, with talks by experts from academia and industry and ample time for networking and discussion, in order to provide the students with insight into perspectives for mathematics graduates.

Last but not least, since 2016 the Austrian Mathematical Society has held its annual general assembly in the framework of the Tag der Mathematik (Mathematics Day), where the above mentioned prizes are also awarded and two - often recently appointed - colleagues from Austrian Universities present their research to the mathematical public in colloquium talks.



Barbara Kaltenbacher is a professor for Applied Analysis at the Alpen-Adria-University of Klagenfurt and currently president of the Austrian Mathematical Society as well as one of two editors in chief of the Journal of the European Mathematical Society. Her research interests lie in the field

of inverse problems, in particular regularisation methods and parameter identification in partial differential equations, as well as in modelling, for example in nonlinear acoustics and piezoelectricity.