# Announcement of the next meeting of the EMS Council Bled, Slovenia, 25th and 26th June 2022

The EMS Council meets every second year. The next meeting will be held in Bled, Slovenia, **25th and 26th June 2022**, at Rikli Balance Hotel (www.sava-hotels-resorts.com/en/sava-hoteli-bled). Registration will be held on 25th June between 12:00 and 13:45. The Council meeting begins on 25th June at 14:00 and ends on 26th June at 12:00.

## Delegates

Delegates to the Council shall be elected for a period of four years. A delegate may be re-elected provided that consecutive service in the same capacity does not exceed eight years. Delegates will be elected by the following categories of members.

## (a) Full members

Full members are national mathematical societies, which elect 1, 2, 3, or 4 delegates according to their membership class. The Council decides the membership class and societies are invited to apply for the class upgrade. However, the *current* membership class of the society determines the number of delegates for the 2022 Council.

Each society is responsible for the election of its delegates. To be eligible to nominate its delegates the society must have paid the corporate membership fee for the year 2021 and/or 2022. It is not compulsory but is highly appreciated that the full member delegates join the EMS as individual members.

The link to the online nomination form for delegates of full members is below. The deadline for nominations for delegates of full members is **4th April 2022**.

### (b) Associate members

Delegates representing associate members shall be elected by a ballot organized by the Executive Committee from a list of candidates who have been nominated and seconded by associate members, and have agreed to serve. In October 2021, there were three associate members and, according to our statutes, (up to) one delegate may represent these members. Associate members delegates must themselves be members of the EMS and have paid the individual membership fees for the year 2021 and/or 2022. The associate member delegate Susanne Ditlevsen can be re-elected for the second term 2022–2025.

The link to the online nomination form for delegates of associate members (including the ones eligible for re-election) is below. The deadline for nominations for delegates of individual members is 28th February 2022.

#### (c) Institutional members

Delegates representing institutional members shall be elected by a ballot organized by the Executive Committee from a list of candidates who have been nominated and seconded by institutional members, and have agreed to serve. In October 2021, there were 48 institutional members and, according to our statutes, (up to) four delegates may represent these members. Institutional member delegates must themselves be individual members of the EMS and have paid the individual membership fees for the year 2021 and/or 2022. The delegate whose term includes 2022 is Klavdija Kutnar. The institutional member delegates who can be re-elected for the second term 2022–2025 are David Abrahams, Alex Mielke and Luis Vega.

The link to the online nomination form for delegates of institutional members (including the ones eligible for re-election) is below. The deadline for nominations for delegates of institutional members is **28th February 2022**.

## (d) Individual members

Delegates representing individual members shall be elected by a ballot organized by the Executive Committee from a list of candidates who have been nominated and seconded, and have agreed to serve. These delegates must themselves be individual members of the European Mathematical Society and have paid the individual membership fees for the year 2021 and/or 2022.

In October 2021 there were 3143 individual members and, according to our statutes, these members may be represented by (up to) 32 delegates.

Here is a list of the current delegates of individual members whose term includes 2022:

Luis Alseda Pierangelo Marcati Antonio Campillo Wacław Marzantowicz Carles Casacuberta Vicente Muñoz Fernando da Costa Piotr Oprocha Heike Faßbender Joaquín Pérez Olga Gil-Medrano Carlo Petronio Thierry Horsin Jasna Prezelj Kenji Iohara Armen Sergeev Christian Kassel Juan Soler Hrvoje Kraljević

Here is a list of the delegates of individual members who could be re-elected for the second term 2022–2025:

Jean-Marc Deshouillers Alice Fialowski Jan Pospíšil Primož Potočnik Muhammed Uludag

The link to the online nomination form for delegates of individual members (including the ones eligible for re-election) is below. The deadline for nominations for delegates of individual members is **28th February 2022**.

# Agenda

The Executive Committee is responsible for preparing the matters to be discussed at Council meetings. Items for the agenda of this meeting of the Council should be sent as soon as possible, and no later than **25th April 2022**, to the EMS Secretary Jiří Rákosník (rakosnik@math.cas.cz).



© Jošt Gantar, www.slovenia.info

## **Executive Committee**

The Council is responsible for electing the President, Vice-Presidents, Secretary, Treasurer and other members of the Executive Committee. The present membership of the Executive Committee, together with their individual terms of office, is as follows:

President: Volker Mehrmann (2019–2022) Vice-Presidents: Betül Tanbay (2019–2022) Jorge Buescu (2021–2024) Secretary: Jiří Rákosník (2021–2024) Treasurer: Mats Gyllenberg (2019–2022) Members: Frédéric Hélein (2021–2024) Barbara Kaltenbacher (2021–2024) Luis Narváez Macarro (2021–2024) Beatrice Pelloni (2017–2024)

Members of the Executive Committee are elected for a period of four years. The President can only serve one term. Committee members may be re-elected, provided that consecutive service shall not exceed eight years.

The Council may, at its meeting, add to the nominations received and set up a Nominations Committee, disjoint from the Executive Committee, to consider all candidates. After hearing the report by the Chair of the Nominations Committee (if one has been set up), the Council will proceed to the elections to the Executive Committee posts.

All these arrangements are as required in the Statutes and Bylaws, which can be found here together with the web page for the Council: http://euromathsoc.org

The online nomination form for full member delegates:

https://elomake.helsinki.fi/lomakkeet/114719/lomake.html

The deadline for nominations is 4th April 2022.

The nomination form for institutional, associate and individual member delegates:

https://elomake.helsinki.fi/lomakkeet/114718/lomake.html

The deadline for nominations is 28th February 2022.

Secretary: Jiří Rákosník (rakosnik@math.cas.cz) Secretariat: ems-office@helsinki.fi