About EMS Press

EMS Press is a Berlin-based mathematics publisher, owned by the European Mathematical Society. Our program includes 20 journals, 15 new books per year and a backlist of 200 books. We are expanding our role as a community publisher with innovative publishing products and services.


  • Dr. André GaulCEO

    Mathematician. Computer Scientist. Founder of PaperHive.

  • Dr. Apostolos DamialisEditorial Director

    Mathematician. Publisher. Engaging our community.

  • Laura SimoniteHead of Business Development

    Passionate about transparency and open research.

  • Sylvia Fellmann LotrovskyHead of Production

    Cares about perfection in content presentation.

  • Karin NeidhartSales Support

    Books and Journals. General support.

Supervisory Board

  • Prof. Dr. Volker MehrmannPresident / Professor

    President of the EMS, Professor at TU Berlin

  • Prof. Dr. Mats GyllenbergTreasurer / Professor / Permanent Secretary

    Treasurer of the EMS, Professor at University of Helsinki, Permanent Secretary at Finnish Society of Sciences and Letters

  • Prof. Sjoerd Verduyn LunelSecretary / Professor

    Secretary of the EMS, Professor at Universiteit Utrecht

  • Prof. Pavel ExnerScientific Director

    Scientific director of Doppler Institute for Mathematical Physics and Applied Mathematics in Prague

  • Prof. Dr. Etienne EmmrichProfessor / Dean

    Professor at TU Berlin, Dean of Faculty II - Mathematics and Natural Sciences at TU Berlin


The EMS Publishing House was first established in 2001 in Zurich, under the legal entity the European Mathematical Foundation - this allowed the publisher to remain true to the not-for-profit mission of the European Mathematical Society. Founding Managing Director, Thomas Hintermann, undertook this venture with the aim of better serving the mathematics community by taking control of publications back from large commercial publishers. The new publisher was founded on an editorial principle that remains a core part of the Press’s philosophy to this day:

“The collection and presentation of scientific results belong in the hands of people who can do it effectively […] However, commercialism should not determine or influence the way this process is being conducted.”

With robust editorial practices and strong leadership, the publisher grew and became the established and successful organisation you see today. In 2019 Hintermann announced his retirement and a new leadership team took the helm. Moving to Berlin, the Publisher was refounded as the EMS-owned European Mathematical Society - EMS - Publishing House GmbH. The newly established organisation also gained a new Managing Director in Dr. André Gaul, and a new imprint - EMS Press. While the publisher will continue to evolve, our guiding principle remains; we are the mathematics community publisher.